How Old Is Old?

I’m 79 but I’m not old. Okay, my back is shot and I walk all bent, but my head is still straight and working just fine. I know just about all the time where I left my keys and my appetite is great! Yes, I get a touch of indigestion now and again, especially after a steak, but doesn’t everyone?

So am I old? How old do I feel? Somewhere in the upper 60’s as far as I can remember what those years felt like. And how old will I be when I reach old age? I have no idea! Will I know it when I am old?

A couple of years ago age and aging were the subject of a survey carried out by the Pew Research Center; The survey found that most adults over age 50 feel at least 10 years younger than their actual age. One-third of those between 65 and 74 said they felt 10 to 19 years younger, and one-sixth of people 75 and older said they felt 20 years younger.

And when does old age begin? Most people in the survey said old age starts at age 68. Are they kidding? That seems way too young to me. Not surprisingly, most people over 65 have a different idea about old age. Now consider the answer given by people under 30. Most of them think you’re old by the time you hit 60.

Leave a Reply

